Adiyogi and its 108 names

108 Names of Shiva with Meanings

Shiva’s names represent different dimensions of who he is. Here is a list of 108 names of Shiva and Sadhguru’s explanation about why Shiva seems to have so many names!

Sadhguru says, “In the yogic tradition, Shiva is worshipped as a guru, not as a god. That which we refer to as Shiva is multi-dimensional. All the qualities that you can ever ascribe to anyone are ascribed to Shiva. When we say Shiva, we are not saying he is this kind of a person or that kind of a person.

Generally, the moralistic traditions always understand Divinity as good. But if you look at Shiva, you can neither fix him as good or bad. Everything that is in the Existence is a part of him. That is how he is described in the tradition.”

The Origin of the 108 Names of Shiva

Sadhguru continues, “He has innumerable forms and manifestations but fundamentally, we can categorize these into seven categories. There is the distant godhead that we call as Ishwara; there is a benevolent personal god that we call as Shambho; there is an uncomplicated hermit or Bho, or an endearingly naïve Sambaleshwara or Bhola; there is a wise teacher of the Vedas whom we call as Dakshinamurthy; the fountainhead of all art forms, we call him Natesha; the fierce, the destroyer of the wicked, we call him Kalabhairava or Mahakala; the dashing seducer of the romantic, we call him Somasundara, which means more beautiful than the moon. These are the seven basic forms out of which millions of manifestations can be derived.”

In the yogic tradition, there are 1008 names of Shiva that stem from these seven broad categories. Out of these 1008 names, there are 108 names of Shiva that are widely known:

Shiva’s 108 Names with Meanings

AashutoshOne who instantly fulfills all wishes
AdiguruThe first Guru
Adinath The first Lord
Adiyogi The first Yogi
Aja The Unborn
Akshayaguna The one with limitless qualities
Anagha The faultless one
Anantadrishti Of infinite vision
Augadh One who revels all the time
Avyayaprabhu Imperishable
Bhairav Destroyer of fear
Bhalanetra One who has an eye in the forehead
Bholenath The simple one
BhooteshwaraOne who has mastery over the elements
Bhudeva Lord of the earth
BhutapalaProtector of the disembodied beings
Chandrapal Master of the moon
ChandraprakashOne who has moon as a crest
Dayalu The compassionate one
Devadideva The god of gods
Dhanadeepa Lord of wealth
Dhyanadeep The light of meditation
Dhyutidhara Lord of brilliance
DigambaraThe one who wears the sky as his raiment
Durjaneeya Difficult to be known
Durjaya The unvanquished
Gangadhara Lord of river ganga
Girijapati Consort of girija
Gunagrahin Acceptor of gunas
Gurudeva The great Guru
Hara Remover of sins
Jagadisha Master of the Universe
Jaradhishamana Redeemer from afflictions
Jatin The one with matted hair
Kailas One who bestows peace
Kailashadhipati Lord of Mount Kailash
Kailashnath Master of Mount Kailash
Kamalakshana Lotus-eyed lord
Kantha Ever-radiant
Kapalin One who wears a necklace of skulls
Kochadaiyaan The lord with long dreadlocks
Kundalin One who wears earrings
Lalataksha One who has an eye in the forehead
Lingadhyaksha Lord of the lingas
Lokankara Creator of the three worlds
Lokapal One who takes care of the world
Mahabuddhi Extreme intelligence
Mahadeva Greatest God
Mahakala The lord of time
Mahamaya Of great illusions
Mahamrityunjaya Great victor of death
Mahanidhi Great storehouse
Mahashaktimaya One who has boundless energies
Mahayogi Greatest yogi
MaheshaSupreme lord
Maheshwara Lord of Gods
Nagabhushana One who has serpents as ornaments
Nataraja King of the art of dancing
Nilakantha The Blue-throated one
Nityasundara Ever beautiful
Nrityapriya Lover of Dance
Omkara Creator of AUM
Palanhaar One who protects all
Panchatsaran Vigorous
Parameshwara First among all gods
Paramjyoti Greatest splendor
Pashupati Lord of all living beings
Pinakin One who has a bow in his hand
Pranava Originator of the primal sound of AUM
Priyabhakta Favorite of the devotees
Priyadarshana Of loving vision
Pushkara One who gives nourishment
Pushpalochana One who has eyes like flowers
Ravilochana Having Sun as the eye
Rudra The Roarer
Sadashiva The Transcended one
Sanatana The Eternal God
Sarvacharya The Supreme Teacher
Sarvashiva The Eternal Lord
Sarvatapana Preceptor of All
Sarvayoni Always Pure
Sarveshwara Lord of All
Shambho The auspicious one
Shankara Lord of All Gods
Shantah Peaceful Lord
Shoolin One who has a trident
Shreshhtha Always pure
Shrikantha One who has a pure body
Shrutiprakasha Illuminator of the Vedas
Skandaguru Perceptor of Skanda
Someshwara Lord of the Moon
Sukhada The giver of joy
Swayambhu Self-created
Tejaswani One who spreads illumination
Trilochana Three-eyed Lord
Trilokpati Master of all the three worlds
Tripurari Destroyer of the "Tripur" (the 3 planets created by Asuras)
Trishoolin One who has a trident in his hands
Umapati Consort of Uma
Vachaspati Lord of Speech
Vajrahasta One who has a thunderbolt in his hands
Varada Granter of Boons
Vedakarta Originator of the Vedas
Veerabhadra Supreme Lord of the Nether World
Vishalaksha Wide-eyed Lord
Vishveshwara Lord of the Universe
Vishwanath Master of the Universe
Vrishavahana One who has bull as his vehicle

Related Tags


Get latest blogs on Shiva

Related Content

Shiva, Ganesha and Parvati – The story of Ganesha’s Birth