Guru Purnima
    July 31st
    7 pm IST
    1:30 pm GMT
    9:30 am EDT
    Register for Free
    & Join our (no spam!) Live Event Mailing List
    Or, Pay What You Want & Support Isha Projects

    Have a Question for Sadhguru?
    Send in your burning question and get a chance to ask
    Sadhguru live during the Google Hangout

    “Guru Purnima is the sacred day that marks the first transmission of the yogic sciences from Adiyogi to the Saptarishis, the seven celebrated sages.​​​​ ​Celebrate Guru Purnima with us.”

    The word “Guru” in Sanskrit is translated as “dispeller of darkness.” A Guru dispels the seeker’s ignorance, allowing him to experience the source of creation within. The day of Guru Purnima is traditionally the time when seekers offer the Guru their gratitude and receive his blessings. Guru Purnima is also considered an especially beneficial day to practice yogic sadhana and meditation.

    The full moon day in the month of Ashadha (July-August) is known as Guru Purnima. This sacred day marks the very first transmission of the yogic sciences from Shiva – the Adiyogi or First Yogi – to the Saptarishis, the seven celebrated sages. This momentous occasion took place on the banks of the lake Kantisarovar, which stands a few kilometers above the Kedarnath Temple in the Himalayas. Thus, the Adiyogi became the Adi Guru or the First Guru on this day. The Saptarishis carried this knowing offered by Adiyogi throughout the world. Even today, every spiritual process on the planet draws from the spine of knowing created by Adiyogi.

    watch-video-black

    Chandrajeevan

    Chandrajeevan

     

    “When we were called out to perform, I held my Guru in my heart, I lost myself in the dance and it happened beautifully, in my experience. A very rare opportunity to be with my Master and offer a dance on Guru Purnima..”

    Isha Resident

    © 2017 Sadhguru All rights reserved